QUESTION 1: What are EasyFind's total current revenues per month?
$19 * 5,470 = $103,930 [+/- $3,118]
Total Revenues = Price * Volume
QUESTION 2: If EasyFind's variable costs are $10 per dozen, what is their total contribution each month at current prices?
($19 - 10) * 5,470 = $49,230 [+/- $1,477]
Total contribution = Unit Contribution * units sold
QUESTION 3: What will be EasyFind's new price if they choose to implement the price …show more content…
QUESTION 6: If changing to color increases variable costs by $.40, what is the percentage decrease in contribution margin resulting from the switch to color?
(($2.21 - $0.83) - ($2.21 - ($0.83 + .40))) / ($2.21 - $0.83) = 0.29 [+/- 0.01] (29%) [+/- 1%]
Change in contribution divided by the original contribution
Or divide the new contribution margin by the old contribution margin and subtract the result from 1.
COMPANY BACKGROUND: Softstep Stables has developed a lighter horseshoe for thoroughbreds, called the Air Citation. The company is presently experiencing labor difficulties and plans to raise wages to avert a strike. This will increase the Variable Cost per shoe from $15 to $23. The shoes presently sell for $54 each, but due to the competitive environment, Softstep Stables are dropping their price to $32 each. Their current volume is 800 units. Fixed costs are $1,500.
QUESTION 1: What is unit (per shoe) contribution BEFORE the price and cost changes?
$54 - 15 = $39 [+/- $1]
Current selling price less $15
QUESTION 2: What is the total contribution to profit BEFORE the price and cost change?
$39 * 800 = 31,200 [+/- 936]
Current unit contribution times current volume
QUESTION 3: What will be the new unit contribution after the price and cost change?
$32 - $23 = $9