The 5 Love Languages

1394 words 6 pages
Je T’aime or “I Love You”? They say that French is the most romantic language of all, but after reading Gary Chapman’s bestselling book, The 5 Love Languages, I would have to disagree. This international bestseller written by the director of Marriage and Family Life Consultants, Inc. has revived the love in millions of marriages around the world by uncovering the five specific languages that successful couples use to communicate their love for one another. These couples share a priceless love due to their understanding of the language that the other uses daily to show their affection for one another. These love languages include words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical touch. In the book, Chapman …show more content…

The gifts themselves are symbols of the thoughts that go into them. It doesn’t matter if it cost money or not. Not only is it the thought, but it is also the fact that the thought was expressed and secured in the gift and expression of love. If this is your spouse’s love language and you have problems spending money, you need to remember that buying gifts for your spouse is the best investment you could ever make. (pages 75-86) Acts of Service is the fourth love language Chapman discusses in the book. This includes doing things you know your spouse wants you to do. You should seek to please them by serving them and express your love to them by doing things for them. Acts of service require thought, planning, time, effort, and energy. These expressions of love should be done in a positive spirit. However, one should not be forced to do these things. Love is always freely given and cannot be demanded. We should request things of one another instead. In the words of Chapman, “Requests give direction to love, but demands stop the flow of love.” (pages 91-104) The fifth and final love language is physical touch. Physical touch can make a marriage amazing or destroy a marriage. It can communicate hate or love, and to the person who’s primary love language is physical touch, its message can mean a lot more than the words “I hate you” or “I love you.” Physical touch can take many forms in marriage. Touch receptors are


  • La Guinguette
    2253 words | 10 pages
  • The Sacred Words: Elements of Poetry
    1515 words | 7 pages
  • Critical History of "As I Lay Dying"
    2991 words | 12 pages
  • James Joyce and Catholicism in Portrait and Dubliners
    3351 words | 14 pages
  • Analytical analysis and comparism of an everyday text with a literary text
    3844 words | 16 pages
  • How love relationships affect students' academic performance
    904 words | 4 pages
  • Essay 1 - Role of the Educator
    3706 words | 15 pages
  • Literature and South Africa
    6663 words | 27 pages
  • Ethnic Culture and Culture of Poverty: the Gypsy/Roma
    1369 words | 6 pages
  • Shakespeare and Robert Browning
    2066 words | 9 pages